My Diary: Lighting The Past With The Present

I had to take the Celtic pattern route out of town to say goodbye to an old friend.‭ ‬With my minimally decorated room of thoughts lugubriously lit I waited on a platform where the trains no longer stop and thought of figures in blackthorn thickets reached through a slip slide path of mud.‭ ‬I moved onto the living platform as the train approached.‭ ‬I then found myself at the church after a spell in a phantom cart‭ ‬-‭ ‬the phantom driver and I talked of being born in a cemetery.‭ ‬Most of the people I met were a draughts piece move away from the present and I jokingly called my contract phone old.‭ ‬I came home as sediment in a beer barrel‭; ‬rolling into the hedge at the bottom of our front garden just before a lady walked by with her child sat in a Sherman tank‭ ‬-‭ ‬it turned the corner before it fired its gun.

Leave a Reply

