My Diary: Freedom Found In Captivity

June went to town dressed in spent matchsticks and astride a giant white swan that our neighbour keeps tethered in his back garden‭ ‬-‭ ‬this is the neighbour who opens his mouth and a cavalcade of small cars drive out‭ (‬they are then invariably frightened off by a cinema usherette with torch lights instead of eyes who lives in the garden shed‭)‬.‭ ‬As June shrunk in size on the decidedly urban page which doubles as a shopping list I gathered up my countryside clothes and balanced on top of a semiquaver from a forgotten manuscript‭; ‬I fell off half way through the main melody only to be then knocked over by the counterpoint.‭ ‬By the time June had returned home with a slither of landscape caught in her coat I had pushed my hands into a bucket of wet sand and my feet had got a bit part in a spaghetti western.‭

Leave a Reply

