My Diary: The Entomologist’s Battle Cry

I got out of bed to the sound of a metallic grating sound which I discovered was the pirate ship we are all held hostage in pulling on its moorings.‭ ‬Above,‭ ‬the clouds were being painted in a multitude of non-rainbow colours by a man standing on a Volkswagen beetle and below June was walking between two converging lines wondering how far she could go before they touched‭ ‬-‭ ‬I put my head out of the porthole and told her to skip just in case‭ (‬a marching band played Nimrod from Elgar’s Enigma Variations and the man half way up a barber’s pole got down‭)‬.‭ ‬I stayed in the house,‭ ‬which I would have liked better if it had resembled a starfish,‭ ‬while June went out collecting up ever more random items in her caddis fly larva bag‭ ‬-‭ ‬I had‭ ‬walk to town and collect it when it had become an imago.

2 thoughts on “My Diary: The Entomologist’s Battle Cry

Leave a Reply

