My Diary: On Finding Damp Patches In The Desert

I got up early,‭ ‬my head aflame with thoughts which I fully expected would be put out in the cold wet of the morning.‭ ‬I dressed quickly,‭ ‬putting a number of spare smiles in my pocket in case someone knocked on the door with an image of acid rain dripping on calcareous rock.‭ ‬June followed me downstairs even though we had invented a number of extra flights in the night and had no idea what we would find at the bottom‭ ‬-‭ ‬as it turned out it was empty except for a waterlogged chair and the business card of the Creature from the Black Lagoon.‭ ‬I went out into the garden covered in soil while June went out on her own for the afternoon.‭ ‬She knocked on the door at the end of it and I let her in through the window.

Leave a Reply

