My Diary: Saluting The Sky As My Ship Sinks

June and I ate our breakfasts inside adjoining recyclable bags‭; ‬I ate crumpled paper and she ate the news.‭ ‬She wanted to go out and arranged herself like an embroidered handkerchief in the breast pocket of her favourite jacket.‭ ‬I painted my jeans before I painted the canvas and then settled down to listen to voices emerge from the river washed stones I collected last week.‭ ‬I arranged the sounds into sets depending on vocal ability‭; ‬stopping off half way to undress and have a bath with one of a pair of Wellington boots over my head‭ ‬-‭ ‬I thought this would make a good photograph but had left the camera in my school satchel‭ ‬-‭ ‬along with a red and blue flashing Dalek.‭ ‬June came home with the pale coloured finger nails of a faith healer.

Leave a Reply

