My Diary: Feeling Old In A Cot

June wanted a day of baking gem stones and locked me out of the kitchen.‭ ‬Before working as a telegraphist for the Union Pacific railroad in the Eighteen Sixties I went out into the garden to talk to a number of Boer War soldiers busily reenacting the Siege of Mafeking in the rabbit hutch‭ (‬the rabbit having moved into a penthouse apartment on the South Coast‭)‬.‭ ‬One showed me a model of the USS Nautilus he kept in a tropical aquarium and then extolled the virtues of breeding veil tail guppies‭ ‬-‭ ‬in response I showed him a picture of myself as a young child in the company of a group of dog headed men.‭ ‬June came upstairs after lunch with a slice of cake she had christened Marie Antoinette‭ ‬-‭ ‬I went down later with an empty plate I christened Madame Roland.

Leave a Reply

