My Diary: Going Out Holding Hands With Myself

An exceptionally early morning and I felt like a sperm whale surfacing from a very deep dive.‭ ‬June was invisible‭ (‬although I imagined her wearing a striped deckchair‭) ‬and we spoke like a packet of sherbert sweets.‭ ‬I then found myself on a hillside touching a shadow as it swept down from a figure opening a crisp packet and watching little people jumping out‭ ‬-‭ ‬I celebrated their freedom and then caught the bus‭ (‬the driver never looked at my ticket but appeared to count my fingers and divide by an unknown number‭ ‬-‭ ‬I resolved to count my toes on the way home and then multiply by another‭)‬.‭ ‬After speaking in holiday words to the gentle giant I followed a path to the bottom of his garden,‭ ‬holding my hands aloft for several minutes before going back to have hard work words and a drink.

2 thoughts on “My Diary: Going Out Holding Hands With Myself

Leave a Reply

