My Diary: Looking To The Future To See The Past

After a quick handshake in town I caught the highwayman’s coach by The Watchman’s Arms.‭ ‬The driver,‭ ‬dressed in the clothes of a Sixteenth Century Venetian merchant refused to trade and his voice,‭ ‬kept in a closed top pocket,‭ ‬was reduced to a whisper like the rustle of boiled sweet wrappings‭ ‬-‭ ‬I fumbled in my pocket for an answer but only found small change‭ (‬invariably a penny short‭!)‬.‭ ‬I then had to wait at the second bus stop,‭ ‬cleverly modelled on the front paw print of a Staffordshire Bull Terrier,‭ ‬until the second bus slunk up unapologetically late.‭ ‬I met the old king as capital letters in an otherwise lower case street just before he went out for his counting house appointment‭ ‬-‭ ‬I waited in the busy motorway house as dirty overalls scurried around the bodies of working men.

Leave a Reply

