My Diary: A White Rabbit For President

I got up before the young voice in an old body rang.‭ ‬We spoke the language of calendar dates,‭ ‬coming to rest like a roulette ball on Tuesday‭ ‬-‭ ‬we both lost our chips.‭ ‬The voice laughed as I said‭ “‬the week was like a serpent eating its own tail‭”‬.‭ ‬After someone else came in carrying an Ancient Greek column I walked to town holding a rabbit:‭ ‬he was off white with a penchant for fox jokes,‭ ‬none of which I had heard.‭ ‬We parted company where the little boys had jumped the river in olden days‭ ‬-‭ ‬the youngest always falling in with a splash.‭ ‬I prefered to jump ship and surfaced again with a glass bottle in my top pocket‭; ‬if I am lucky someone drops in coins and reseals the top.‭ ‬I spent some time as smoke coming out of a distant chimneys and then collected the rabbit as a waterfall inside a‭ ‬wine cask.

Leave a Reply

