My Diary: Seeing A Landscape Instead Of A Face In The Mirror

June got up on a different island to me although I could see her standing on the shore with her back to the tank traps built during the last war.‭ ‬My island had marble columns which she said later looked like decaying teeth and a small bust of Dionynus on top‭ (‬he was holding a bunch of grapes in the same way as I hold a glass of wine‭)‬.‭ ‬I pretended the cherry tree avenues‭ (‬now out in bloom‭) ‬were full of sharks as I counted the number of steps it took to reach a carton of milk.‭ ‬The man who sells park benches to vagrants came down the road as I went up‭ ‬-‭ ‬I smiled but didn’t speak.‭ ‬The trees reminded me of severed hands in gloves and a watery hand reached out from a grey cloud and tried to shake one,‭ ‬coming away with only silken fingers and a wedding ring with a skull and crossbones on it.

Leave a Reply

