My Diary: Call Me Alexander But Don’t Call Me Great

I rushed out of the school satchel door holding a bag of sweets‭ (‬these were to give to the teacher who was planning to go to town on the back of a cockerel‭)‬.‭ ‬I caught a bus on the Indian subcontinent and retraced the route of Alexander the Great before he turned into a dog and threw himself out of a first floor window after the postman‭ ‬-‭ ‬he wasn’t hurt,‭ ‬I wish I could say the same for the man.‭ ‬I met the talking clock in his Olympus bungalow and we talked of German bombs following a neighbour home during the last war‭ ‬-‭ ‬he had time to change into a red kite before they went off.‭ ‬On my own way home I saw a field of bright pink stars and thought of my childhood while a white dove suddenly changed into a building site‭ ‬-‭ ‬I knew I wouldn’t be able to afford the house.

Leave a Reply

