My Diary: Odysseus, Diomedes And Me

I got up early and left the house via a crack under the door so as not to wake the doorway sentinels‭ ‬-‭ ‬who on Fridays manifests themselves as a petrified string quartet‭ (‬street lights glinting on veins of coloured minerals like solo notes among a group sound‭)‬.‭ ‬I caught a Trojan horse outside the railway engine tavern and emerged in the wrong Troy,‭ ‬finally reaching my home village just as an ancient Phoenician trading ship somewhat incongruously sunk into the hillside I ran up as a very young child‭ (‬I would like to say that I ran down it again as an older one but I strongly suspect I am still young and climbing‭)‬.‭ ‬I talked to the king of the village about old roads that reminded us both of strands of light coloured hair and then of ribbons who,‭ ‬unfortunately,‭ ‬can no longer tie them.

2 thoughts on “My Diary: Odysseus, Diomedes And Me

    • Thank you very much! The explanation is actually rather prosaic as the Trojan horse was a bus and there used to be a public house at the top of our road called The Railway Tavern – it is now called The Lunar Hare which is much more poetic!

Leave a Reply

