My Diary: Flying Into An Alternative History On The Back Of A Wild Bird

June went to work early as I travelled across the garden wearing newly invented hover boots;the blackbirds in the electric flex bushes were wearing Prussian military uniforms from immediately after the Napoleonic Wars.Their buttons were so polished I could see small faces reflected;when I realised they were not my own I turned round and saw what I imagined to be choristers from a celestial choir-I found out later that they were only the combined effect of pan pipe chords and moonlight shining in the middle of the day.As the cloud wrote with anincreasingly finer pen I thought of the woman I had met in the art shop hanging out her voices like just washed clothes-musing on how much safer the world would be if I was still the child’s side of the shop counter I moved plants like draughts pieces.

Leave a Reply

