My Diary

I got up like a newly constructed champagne bottle sliding down the slipway – I hit the water but couldn’t see my name on the side of the ship, although reassuringly next door’s cat was wearing my initials instead of a bell. I had to carry a step ladder over a railway bridge, although the former (which is known to exist in at least eleven separate dimensions) was folded up into a ball – incidentally smoke was issuing from the chimney farthest away from me but totally absent from all those nearer. I imagined myself as a knight unthinkingly throwing a fading flower from the bridge as he passed over it (I also imagined a lady in army fatigues and walking on stilts like muddy candyfloss throwing it back – I saw the same lady some time later freeing a sacrificial ram from a thicket).

Leave a Reply

