My Diary

June had to work, I heard her bang a recalcitrant door while watching the clock cuckoo put on his dungarees. I pulled a small piece of landscape off the view from the bedroom window and carried it out into the garden. Other flag bearers had already gathered and I imagined a large room filled with plinths and recumbent figures, each stretching further back in time – cue music and a skeletal arm plucks its own sinews. Coming back from town I glanced in a mirror and saw a leopard’s head (I’m not sure if it suited me but I need to improve my biceps), I glanced again and saw Gold Beach during the Normandy landings – in the background was a garlanded figure, I searched in vain for a violet flower.

Leave a Reply

