My Diary

I got up on one side of the chasm before following a rope bridge to the other; June was stretching across the crevice in a dream, I was loath to wake her in case she fell. I travelled across the cold grey countryside and met the man in a warming room. I went outside to run my hands together and the lady next door came in with a crocodile wrapped up in an old envelope – the former threatened to cry while the latter gave the route of a steam roller which would flatten all round numbers in at least three counties. I came home inside someone else’s shopping trolley, only climbing out to change buses. Someone else had claimed the front seat and I watched the film from several rows back; looking to my left to notice an Iron Age hill fort and to my right to recall a page from Pride And Prejudice.

Leave a Reply

